Stuka Stunt Control Line Forum
Archive, 2000–2021 · recovered from the Internet Archive
Forums › Stuka Stunt Main Forum

More than models flying!

Stuka Stunt Main Forum · 10 of 10 known posts recovered

Dallas Hanna · Feb 04, 2004 04:59 AM

#0 source
Not sure where the virus originated but can all check their computers for one of the latest ones. I got one thru to work address from Bill Little which was cc'd to a heap of us including Allen Brickhaus.

Sorry Bill. Not your fault!

Talk to you soon again from OZ

DH

Bill Little · Feb 04, 2004 07:05 AM

#1 source
Hi Dallas,
What virus is it? I ran a full system check, so I must not have received it, but it morphed my address (???) I know these things do that. There were a bunch of guys from the forum on the list. Hope we can find it.
Bill <><

Disclaimer: I am neither a NATS Champion (yet), professional engine reworker, engine producer, column writer, Hobby Shop owner, *rockeet* scientist, nor otherwise. Just an old Advanced flier.

LNeumann · Feb 04, 2004 10:09 AM

#2 source
It doesn't mean it came from you, Bill. This thing will take the list of e-mails and use one of them to spoof the return address. I have received notices from several people I have never heard of whose anti-virus caught a virus sent with a return address from clstunt.com. I never send e-mail from these addresses. I only receive e-mail to the address, so it was probably gleaned out of someone elses list.

When these viruses hit the wild they have a couple of hours of freedom before the anti-virus companies get on them. I received one on Monday a week ago about an hour before Norton caught up with it with the "fix". I caught it manually, however, and deleted it (no, I am not going to open a screen saver that someone sends to me as an attachment.) The stupidest one, however, is the one I keep getting telling me that my e-mail is about to expire. See attachment. It comes from the administrator at clstunt.com. I am the administrator at clstunt.com.

Leonard Neumann

Old Sourdough · Feb 04, 2004 01:36 PM

#3 source
Leonard wrote:

"...The stupidest one, however, is the one I keep getting telling me that my e-mail is about to expire. See attachment. It comes from the administrator at clstunt.com. I am the administrator at clstunt.com."

Leonard,

This is very similar to those "Spoof" email messages that have been discussed before in relation to eBay and PayPal. I don't believe it is a virus or worm, unless, of course, it was identified as so by your AV Software. The spoof directs one to an official looking page and asks for personal information to be able to maintain the account's open status. These "spoof" email messages are usually a great deal more dangerous than any viruses or worms, if one's virus protection software is up to date. Be very careful of these!


The Old Sourdough
Ruksakinmakiak, Alaska, US of A

Dallas Hanna · Feb 04, 2004 03:55 PM

#4 source
The attachment/e-mail was "to the nicest persons". I didn't think it came via SSW but there were a few familiar names in the cc'd list. I am in contact with Bill thru regular e-mail so I thought I'd better get a report in. There has been none to my home address so McAfee hasn't give me an ID on the virus. Can anyone pinpoint it for reference.

Back to modelling!!

DH

EddyR · Feb 04, 2004 05:28 PM

#5 source
I got that same one from Bill's email address but the attachment was empty. I guess Norton stopped it for me.
Ed

Bill Little · Feb 04, 2004 05:50 PM

#6 source
LAST EDITED ON Feb-04-04 AT 05:51 PM (CDT)
 
Dallas,
At your first mention, I didn't realize that you were talking about "that" forwarded message.
I got that from a good friend and forwarded it. I checked and no virus here. How does that happen?
Bill <><


Disclaimer: I am neither a NATS Champion (yet), professional engine reworker, engine producer, column writer, Hobby Shop owner, *rockeet* scientist, nor otherwise. Just an old Advanced flier.

Dallas Hanna · Feb 04, 2004 08:33 PM

#8 source
What was in the original attachment Bill? The NSW TAFE system strips anything suspicious out of a message. Last year a virus got into the system and had it almost shut down for 6 days. Just like my workshop..... TOO HOT, TOO HUMID and TOO LITTLE BEER!!! Now that is a virus!

DH

Bill Little · Feb 04, 2004 09:47 PM

#9 source
Dallas,
I went back and checked, just the "message" about friends, etc., was the attachment I got... ?????????
I have three different ways of catching a virus, and none have shown. Usually they are caught by Road Runner before I get it, and I receive a notice that the email wasn't delivered. After that it is my email software and a virus scan on my system.

Bill <><

Disclaimer: I am neither a NATS Champion (yet), professional engine reworker, engine producer, column writer, Hobby Shop owner, *rockeet* scientist, nor otherwise. Just an old Advanced flier.

RCPAUL · Feb 04, 2004 06:36 PM

#7 source
Well, mine came this morning and the sender was listed as Brett!!!

PAUL