Stuka Stunt Control Line Forum
Archive, 2000–2021 · recovered from the Internet Archive
Forums › Stuka Stunt Main Forum

Help please from Computer Gurus

Stuka Stunt Main Forum · 5 of 5 known posts recovered

J Ashford · Jun 24, 2004 10:19 AM

#0 source
Any of you guys know anything about "Share Opinions.US"? I received an email from this source telling me that someone had made an inquiry to them wanting to learn about me. This (of course) had a link to find more information and presumably a way to respond to this inquiry.

Although I am curious, I'm not opening this unless I can find out if it is legit!

Thanks in advance guys. I don't do much web surfing and don't know all the traps and pitfalls that can happen if you punch the wrong button.

Later, John

Brett Buck · Jun 24, 2004 10:22 AM

#1 source
>Any of you guys know anything about "Share Opinions.US"? I
>received an email from this source telling me that someone
>had made an inquiry to them wanting to learn about me. This
>(of course) had a link to find more information and
>presumably a way to respond to this inquiry.
>
>Although I am curious, I'm not opening this unless I can
>find out if it is legit!

I have no idea, but it sounds like a classic "data mining" scheme - just a request to get personal information to be incorporated into a database, and then sold.

My personal opinion is that you should *never* respond to any unsolicited mail.

Brett

dickbyron · Jun 24, 2004 10:42 AM

#2 source
It is a scam. Delete it.

DICK BYRON
3325 GALAWAY BAY DR.
GRAND PRAIRIE, TX 75052
972-336-0445
[email protected]
http://www.dickbyron.com
"Adversity is the path to truth"
-Lord Byron

Randy Powell · Jun 24, 2004 12:28 PM

#3 source
This scam is called phishing. It's a method to try to get you to disclose information.

Delete it.

J Ashford · Jun 24, 2004 01:25 PM

#4 source
Thanks guys, It will be gone in a second.

Later, John